"}},{"@type":"Question","name":"What is the largest vet hospital in the US?","acceptedAnswer":{"@type":"Answer","text":"The Stephen & Christine Schwarzman Animal Medical Center (AMC) is the world's largest non-profit animal hospital with New York City's only Level 1 Veterinary Trauma Center. Our team of 130+ veterinarians work across more than 20 specialties to provide world-class medical care to dogs, cats, and exotic pets."}},{"@type":"Question","name":"Who owns most vet clinics?","acceptedAnswer":{"@type":"Answer","text":"Mars, while not a private equity firm, is the biggest consolidator of pet care companies in the United States, owning pet food companies, pet pharmacies and veterinary care clinic chains such as Banfield Pet Hospitals and BluePearl."}},{"@type":"Question","name":"Who owns Banfield Pet Hospital?","acceptedAnswer":{"@type":"Answer","text":"
Mars Inc.
Banfield Pet Hospital / Parent organization
\"Image
"}},{"@type":"Question","name":"How many locations does veterinary Emergency Group have?","acceptedAnswer":{"@type":"Answer","text":"At our 40+ locations nationwide—and growing—we're there if you want to build a fulfilling career in veterinary emergency medicine, and above all, we're here to help people and their pets when they need it most."}},{"@type":"Question","name":"How many veterinary hospitals are there in the US total?","acceptedAnswer":{"@type":"Answer","text":"There are 48,487 Veterinary Services businesses in the US as of 2023, a decline of -0.5% from 2022."}},{"@type":"Question","name":"Are Banfield and VCA owned by the same company?","acceptedAnswer":{"@type":"Answer","text":"Mars also owns over 1,000 Banfield and Blue Pearl Veterinary clinics, and with their new addition of VCA, this adds another 750 veterinary hospitals under their control. With the VCA purchase, Mars also gains control over Antech Diagnostics, \"the industry's biggest laboratory."}},{"@type":"Question","name":"What is the revenue of VCA Animal Hospitals?","acceptedAnswer":{"@type":"Answer","text":"VCA Animal Hospitals's revenue is $6.0 billion.

VCA Animal Hospitals annual revenue for 2022 was 6.0B, 3.94% growth from 2021. VCA Animal Hospitals annual revenue for 2021 was 5.8B, 18.03% growth from 2020. VCA Animal Hospitals peak revenue was $6.0B in 2022."}}]}}

Colma Animal Hospital - California, Colma | Reviews on thePets (2024)

Colma Animal Hospital - California, Colma | Reviews on thePets (1)

Trish Davis

2 years ago

Needed quick help when my dog opened his stitches after surgery. It was a very stressful situation for me and my dog, but I was lucky to live near Colma Animal Hospital. They were quick, calming and very helpful! I am incredibly grateful for the great service and wonderful care from the Vets and entire staff. Many thanks!

Colma Animal Hospital - California, Colma | Reviews on thePets (2)

Karen L

2 years ago

I highly, highly recommend Dr. Bhakri. He has been our vet since my 15 year old was a pup. He and his team (very caring techs) have seen us through emergencies and routine appointments. I appreciate that he doesn't over prescribe medicines, will always suggest lifestyle changes first, and is patient and thoughtful in his approach. I trust him to look at every situation in a big-picture way -- a treatment for a senior dog vs. a younger dog is an example. I purchase my dog's meds (and prescription food) from the office -- their prices are in line with the big stores, and I am happy to support the practice. As a final note, my dog is happy to go to Colma Animal Hospital, which is truly amazing!

Colma Animal Hospital - California, Colma | Reviews on thePets (3)

Vic mon

2 years ago

Dr. B has seen our dog for over 15 years and we can't say enough about his skills and compassion. From the first day we got him to the day we had to say good bye, Dr. B has treated us more like a family member than a client. We've been Blessed.

Colma Animal Hospital - California, Colma | Reviews on thePets (4)

Kayla Lourenco

2 years ago

Although this place was crazy busy, as is all very hospitals, my cat was very well taken care of. I have been coming to this Vet for years and have always felt good about it. Highly recommend.

Colma Animal Hospital - California, Colma | Reviews on thePets (5)

Jessica R

2 years ago

Thank you, thank you, thank you!! ????????????

Colma Animal Hospital - California, Colma | Reviews on thePets (6)

Ste Lo

2 years ago

Been taking my dog here fa years since she was a pup, and I eventually brought my cat on board. While it's been sad to see some staff come and go, I've never had a truly negative experience from anyone. I also appreciate the time given for explanations when needed.

Colma Animal Hospital - California, Colma | Reviews on thePets (7)

Mark Evans

2 years ago

They are a great animal haven. They have been my go to vet for 20 + years. I can't recommend them highly enough! They are great!

Colma Animal Hospital - California, Colma | Reviews on thePets (8)

Dennis Lynch

2 years ago

Professional and personable. I have been going here for over 10 years for both vet treatment and boarding, that has to say something. Highly recommended. These folks have become friends to me and my pooches.

Colma Animal Hospital - California, Colma | Reviews on thePets (9)

Anthony Pedersen

2 years ago

If you’re looking for a great Vet that cares about your animal, look no further. I unfortunately have run into countless Vets in the Bay Area who seem to care more about money than the actual pets well being. Colma Animal Hospital not only is affordable but that seems to be the least of their concerns. All the staff are helpful and attentive. I appreciate them so much because sometimes owning a pet can be stressful if they get sick, they help take the stress away! Thank you everyone at Colma Animal Hospital!

Colma Animal Hospital - California, Colma | Reviews on thePets (10)

Richard M

2 years ago

Convenient location. Great staff... Attentive, friendly and professional.

Colma Animal Hospital - California, Colma | Reviews on thePets (11)

Pamela Grant

2 years ago

Dr. Bhakhri has been kind, realistic and proactive in identifying my cat's potential illnesses early. I was able to make timely decisions regarding her care a a result. I am sorry I no longer live in the area to have my pet receive care there.I highly recommend him for any pet care.

Colma Animal Hospital - California, Colma | Reviews on thePets (12)

Lord Xanthor (Lord-Xanthor)

2 years ago

Doctor Navdeep Bhakhri:s pet Hospital used to be the best. He saved my pets over past 12 years, but something has happened, ever since his partner passed away, which is why it's extremely painful to me to have to write this review! He removed recently a large tumor recently, and only just found out, he only removed what was visible, leaving rest under skin.That's not the worst of it. He was paid not once, but three times for the same medications his office claims was being ordered, yet never calls, and when I call them, at first would be put on hold, then they started hanging up. No yelling, no arguing, just simple call of where are the medications I paid for that my cats need badly. The office has since blocked my number, and used another phone and got the same results. Hung up on and blocked. He's charging my card, and I figured if he's in financial straits, have the pet pharmacy call for my pets medication. By the way, these aren't pain medications, they are antibiotics and Prednisone creams. He won't even talk with the pet pharmacy and now have to go to another vet and my bank has already started the process of credit card charge back.As I said before, writing this hurts me to tears. He's always been helpful in the past, and done a lot, but this doesn't excuse his behavior.Record keeping is the worst. A kitten we adopted 3 years ago, that was dying, took to him as well, yet despite showing them the invoice, they can't find her medical records and it looks like they were applied to another pet, not remotely the same breed. If I put this issue on my bosses desk today, his practice would have been most likely prosecuted. The only thing that's stopped me is his past service, and fact my bank is taking care of the charges his office put through for services not rendered. Charge me for medication, and not deliver, that's a big no no in my books.

Colma Animal Hospital - California, Colma | Reviews on thePets (13)

Huli A.

2 years ago

Like all animal hospitals, the pricing is ridiculous. Took my dog for an ultrasound and it was $700! Beyond ridiculous. My dog has cancer and over 2 weeks later, I had to call to find that out. The vet never bothered. I was told when I picked up my pit that they needed to get their report together and then the vet would call, but when I called the vet said they should've told me right then and there. Get your ish together over such a sensitive subject! They want another 10 grand to treat my dog, so NO! 2 stars because the elderly lady that works there was nice, but the rest of them, not so much. I hate people in that type of service that can't be empathetic or kind. Your job is customer service, so provide some!

Colma Animal Hospital - California, Colma | Reviews on thePets (14)

H G

2 years ago

I take my Frenchie here for routine checks, and routine injury or illness. They always see us within 24 hours of calling and the doc we see always starts with a conseritive treatment plan. Least invasive, least expensive, and if not improved with a few days, start a more aggresive treatm3nt. so far nothing has needed treatment beyond the first plan. I love that. Fair, honest, and compassionate.

Colma Animal Hospital - California, Colma | Reviews on thePets (15)

eric remulla

2 years ago

The Colma Animal Hospital staff are great and take good care of my puppy each time I bring her in.

Colma Animal Hospital - California, Colma | Reviews on thePets (16)

Claudia Ruslim

2 years ago

I have been going to Dr. Cruz for over a year, since I first got my two cats. He is very informative and patient. He always makes sure I understand the costs of procedures and is happy to explain any questions I have. The staff is great as well. I highly recommend this office!

Colma Animal Hospital - California, Colma | Reviews on thePets (17)

Carolina Freitas

2 years ago

I only have good things to say!Every time I’m very well attended on the phone for any consultation or even emergency. My dogs have always been treated with great care, affection and professionalism. I highly recommend the clinic, and I’m happy to have found a safe place to take care of my dogs. ????????

Colma Animal Hospital - California, Colma | Reviews on thePets (18)

Allan Wai

2 years ago

I gave this place a test run to find a local pet hospital and this place was definitely not the one that best fits me.My criteria of choosing a pet hospital is:- responsive admin team that will reply to my emails or call back when leaving a message.- a through examination with the issue at hand and provide feedback without drastic measures.- leaving medical notes after appointment ( pet insurance related)Colma pet hospital does not fit any of my criterias.A couple of things I did not like:- I sent them my dogs medical records a day ahead, in hopes everything is going to be smooth sailing on appointment day and they "did notreceive it"- Tech did not know how to read shot records and had to show her.- Doctor did not do through exam ( had the doctor look at my dogs leg)- they do not respond to emails, which is really bad. Good luck trying to file something through the insurance.I'm still in search for a better hospital.

Colma Animal Hospital - California, Colma | Reviews on thePets (19)

Allan Lucas

2 years ago

My dog is getting older and is at the stage where he needs the "best" care I can find. I get this from the Colma Hospital. They are knowledgeable to completely check my dog out in order to come to a conclusion. All their recommendations are right son in keeping my dog healthy and to more "good" life. I would recommend them to any and all animal (pet) owners...Allan Lucas

Colma Animal Hospital - California, Colma | Reviews on thePets (20)

Alessandro Fillari

2 years ago

Nice staff, knowledgeable, and respectful of the needs for pets and owners.

Colma Animal Hospital - California, Colma | Reviews on thePets (21)

Maria Purganan

2 years ago

The staff is friendly, courteous and helpful.Dr. B. Is caring and sincere.He even called me at home on his day off.I’m impressedThank you !

Colma Animal Hospital - California, Colma | Reviews on thePets (22)

Steve Kerekes

2 years ago

I found colma animal hospital efficient and kind and priced right. What else can I say?

Colma Animal Hospital - California, Colma | Reviews on thePets (23)

Milla Mironoff

2 years ago

We have been very happy with the staff and Doctor Bhakhri. He is very knowledgeable and takes the time to explain your options. He doesn’t push to have a every test done. He will start with a few basic test to help keep the cost down. Also you are allowed one person in the room with your dog. They sell prescription dog food at a fair price. It’s quicker for us to drive from San Francisco then to drive to a vet in San Francisco. They have free parking .

Colma Animal Hospital - California, Colma | Reviews on thePets (24)

Debra Eslava Burton

2 years ago

The entire team was professional, healthful, friendly and didn’t require too many tests or meds for my dog. They are a great, easy access resource.

Colma Animal Hospital - California, Colma | Reviews on thePets (25)

Elena Robles

2 years ago

This was such a bad experience for my pet. First in the waiting room, staff was ignoring people. Then when we went into the room, the vet quickly shoved a thermometer in my dog’s rear with no warning which completely scared my dog. There was no comforting of any kind and my dog was terrified. They also roughly shaved her hair. I just took my dog to a vet she’s gone to for years and always been comfortable in and she was terrified and wouldnt even go in the room and I blame this horrible experience for her general distrust of the doctor.

Colma Animal Hospital - California, Colma | Reviews on thePets (26)

Glory Ariche

2 years ago

I absolutely love Colma Animal Hospital. They've taken great care of my puppy since the day we brought him home last year. Loving Doctors and caring staff.

Colma Animal Hospital - California, Colma | Reviews on thePets (27)

Laura Ravella

2 years ago

I've been going to Colma Animal Hospital for over 15 years and the last 4 have been horrible. My Vet is wonderful and I wouldn't want to take my dog any where else. But, the woman at the front desk needs to retire. She keeps you waiting 30 to 40 minutes after your appt. time to put you in a room, which is another 15 to 20 minutes. You call to have a prescription refilled and when you go to pick it up, she's forgotten. I've left messages with her to have my Vet call me and he never he never gets them. She is very scattered brained.Unfortunately, I'm looking for another Vet. Colma has gone down hill and my Pet 's health is at stake.

Colma Animal Hospital - California, Colma | Reviews on thePets (28)

Karen Kinahan

2 years ago

Colma Pet Hospital is the ONLY place I would ever consider for my beloved fur babies. We have 4 large breed dogs that have been going for years and thriving under Dr. Bhakhri's care. Dr. B, Tatiana, Mary and the rest of the staff are warm, caring and always willing to go the extra mile. Even after moving to Petaluma we still come back to Colma Pet Hospital for all our vet needs. Absolutely the best care.

Colma Animal Hospital - California, Colma | Reviews on thePets (29)

Julie Y

2 years ago

I had an emergency on a Saturday and was turned away by three hospitals. The Colma staff were able to fit me in and we’re so kind and caring, even though they aren’t emergency. The vet we saw was wonderful explaining her treatment options but did not try to upsell me for more than was needed. So happy we found this sweet little place!

Colma Animal Hospital - California, Colma | Reviews on thePets (30)

John Labsan

2 years ago

Dr. Bakari is one of the BEST Doctors available for your fur-baby, Tiger (through 4/17/2021) and Dante has been seen by him for the past 8 years. He truly cares for your fur-babies as if they were his own, does not recommend unneeded treatments and will call you late nights just to check on your fur-baby. The team there is always amazing and friendly and ready to accommodate your last minute request. They are the BEST facility in the San Francisco/Colma area.

Colma Animal Hospital - California, Colma | Reviews on thePets (2024)

FAQs

How many locations does VCA Animal Hospital have? ›

Kerl oversees medical operations at VCA's network of more than 1,000 small animal veterinary hospitals.

Who owns Rialto Animal Hospital? ›

Lisa Norkunas, RVT, Owner and Hospital Director.

What is the name of the clinic that provides no cost pet care for approved Alachua County residents? ›

St. Francis House Pet Care Clinic provides sterilization services in addition to FREE primary veterinary care to the pets of veterans, homeless, and very low-income residents of Alachua County.

Who owns VCA Animal Hospitals? ›

What is the largest vet hospital in the US? ›

The Stephen & Christine Schwarzman Animal Medical Center (AMC) is the world's largest non-profit animal hospital with New York City's only Level 1 Veterinary Trauma Center. Our team of 130+ veterinarians work across more than 20 specialties to provide world-class medical care to dogs, cats, and exotic pets.

Who owns most vet clinics? ›

Mars, while not a private equity firm, is the biggest consolidator of pet care companies in the United States, owning pet food companies, pet pharmacies and veterinary care clinic chains such as Banfield Pet Hospitals and BluePearl.

Who owns Banfield Pet Hospital? ›

How many locations does veterinary Emergency Group have? ›

At our 40+ locations nationwide—and growing—we're there if you want to build a fulfilling career in veterinary emergency medicine, and above all, we're here to help people and their pets when they need it most.

How many veterinary hospitals are there in the US total? ›

There are 48,487 Veterinary Services businesses in the US as of 2023, a decline of -0.5% from 2022.

Are Banfield and VCA owned by the same company? ›

Mars also owns over 1,000 Banfield and Blue Pearl Veterinary clinics, and with their new addition of VCA, this adds another 750 veterinary hospitals under their control. With the VCA purchase, Mars also gains control over Antech Diagnostics, "the industry's biggest laboratory.

What is the revenue of VCA Animal Hospitals? ›

VCA Animal Hospitals's revenue is $6.0 billion.

VCA Animal Hospitals annual revenue for 2022 was 6.0B, 3.94% growth from 2021. VCA Animal Hospitals annual revenue for 2021 was 5.8B, 18.03% growth from 2020. VCA Animal Hospitals peak revenue was $6.0B in 2022.

Top Articles
Latest Posts
Article information

Author: Jonah Leffler

Last Updated:

Views: 6192

Rating: 4.4 / 5 (65 voted)

Reviews: 88% of readers found this page helpful

Author information

Name: Jonah Leffler

Birthday: 1997-10-27

Address: 8987 Kieth Ports, Luettgenland, CT 54657-9808

Phone: +2611128251586

Job: Mining Supervisor

Hobby: Worldbuilding, Electronics, Amateur radio, Skiing, Cycling, Jogging, Taxidermy

Introduction: My name is Jonah Leffler, I am a determined, faithful, outstanding, inexpensive, cheerful, determined, smiling person who loves writing and wants to share my knowledge and understanding with you.